Ken Cockayne elected as Bristol’s new mayor

Ken Cockayne, republican, has been elected as Bristol’s new mayor, coming in with 5,419 votes. Cockayne beat Democratic mayoral candidate Chris Wilson, who received 4,980 votes. According to preliminary results, the City Council will be split between Republicans and Democrats. In District 1, Republican incumbent Eric Carlson will join Democratic newcomer Calvin Brown. In District 2, Republicans Rich Miecznikowski will join incumbent Henri Martin. In District 3, Democrats Mary Fortier and Ellen Zoppo-Sassu will take the helm. Check back at the Bristol Observers website on Wednesday for more results from Tuesday’s election.