NVCOG taps officers; Bristol mayor picked as secretary

Naugatuck Valley Council of Governments Transitional Executive Committee Co-Chairs Edward Edelson, First Selectman of Southbury and W. Kurt Miller, First Selectman of the Town of Seymour announced that the new NVCOG has selected the following officers to administer the NVCOG beginning Jan. 1:

Chair: Mayor Neil O’Leary, Waterbury

Vice-Chair: Mayor Mark Lauretti, Shelton

Treasurer: Mayor Tom Dunn, Wolcott

Secretary: Mayor Ken Cockayne, Bristol

Six at-large members will join these officers to form the NVCOG’s Executive Committee. These at-large members are:

Kurt Miller, First Selectman Seymour

Ed Edelson, First Selectman Southbury

Chris Bielik, First Selectman Beacon Falls

Len Assard, First Selectman Bethlehem

Ed Mone, First Selectman Thomaston

Bob Mezzo, Mayor, Naugatuck


The NVCOG is a new regional planning organization, the result of a state-mandated merger of existing regional planning organizations: the Valley Council of Governments (VCOG) and the Council of Governments of the Central Naugatuck Valley. Additionally, the communities of Bristol and Plymouth have voted to join the new NVCOG. The NVCOG offices are located at 49 Leavenworth Street in Waterbury.

The municipalities of Ansonia, Beacon Falls, Bethlehem, Bristol, Cheshire, Derby, Middlebury, Naugatuck, Oxford, Plymouth, Prospect, Seymour, Shelton, Southbury, Thomaston, Waterbury, Watertown, Wolcott, Woodbury make up the membership of the NVCOG. The population of all the 19 towns is 448,655. Waterbury is the largest community at 109,676 and Bethlehem, at 3,553, is the smallest.