Application process for renters rebate/ tax relief announced

The application process for Bristol residents applying for the State of Connecticut Renters Rebate/Tax Relief for Elderly and Totally Disabled Renters will be as follows.

Friday, May 1 through Thursday, Oct. 1

The Assessor’s Office be taking applications in the office during the hours of Monday to Thursday from 9 a.m. to 4 p.m. and Fridays from 9 a.m. to 1 p.m..

Wednesday, April 1 through Thursday, April 30, – The Bristol Assessor’s Office, will be taking applications at the housing units listed below. Applications will not be taken in the Assessor’s Office during these dates.

Elderly applicants must have been at least 65 years of age before Dec. 31, 2014, rent or share rent and have lived in Connecticut for one year. An applicant’s gross income, including Social Security benefits, must not exceed $34,600, if single or $42,200, if married.

Applicants must submit documentation of all income and all receipts for rent and utilities paid January through December 2014. All applicants disabled and under the age of 65 must have proof of disability, a BPQY or an Awards Verification Letter.

Applications will be taken on a first come, first serve basis. Please keep the following schedule in mind when filing your rental rebate.

Applications will be taken at the senior housing complexes, as follows:

Tuesday, April 7, Riverview, from 9 to 11 a.m.

Tuesday, April 7, Komanetsky Estates, from 1:30 to 4:30 p.m.

Thursday, April 9, Birchwood Apartments, from 8:30 a.m. to 12 p.m.

Tuesday, April 14, Bonnie Acres from 8:30 a.m. to 12 p.m. and 1:30 to 4:30 p.m.

Thursday, April 16, 490 Stafford Ave., from 8:30 a.m. to 12 p.m.

Tuesday, April 21, Meridian Towers, from 8:30 a.m. – 12 p.m. and 1:30 to 4:30 p.m.

Thursday, April 23, Delorenzo Towers, from 8:30 a.m. to 12 p.m.

Tuesday, April 28, Gaylord Towers, from 8:30 a.m. to 12 p.m. and Kennedy Apartments, from 1:30 to 4:30