Locals earn all-conference and all-state

It’s never a surprise when the athletes from all three Bristol schools achieve all-conference, and all-state nods after the completion of a scholastic campaign.
The Central Connecticut Conference and the Naugatuck Valley League are two superior leagues in the state, and in terms of football, soccer, and swimming, the Mum City’s best and brightest were highlighted for their outstanding play this fall.
In the CCC South, 11 Bristol athletes were named to the all conference squad—seven from Central High School alone.
That group of boys consisted of senior Tyler Boi, senior Noah Cruz, junior Luis Medina, sophomore Isaiah Miller, senior Josh Moxam, junior Tommy Nelligan, and senior J.J. Quiles as the Rams went 7-3 overall in 2015.
For Bristol Eastern, senior Ronte Cooper, junior Edgar Hernandez, along with senior captains Darieyn Tate, and Zac Thompson made up the contingent for the Lancers in terms of CCC South honors.
St. Paul had five players don the NVL all-conference grouping for the locals.
On the All-NVL defensive team, defensive back Ben Pryor (senior)—who rushed for 1,622 yards on 139 carries for 28 touchdowns—was also joined by senior linebacker Joe Ricciuti and sophomore defensive lineman Dom Aiello on the All-NVL, Copper Division squad.
Offensively, the All-NVL, Copper Division team included two Falcons that had tremendous campaigns. At tight end, Chadd Richardson—another slick senior—and senior offensive lineman Lucas McPhee were standouts for St. Paul as the squad went 5-5 on the season.
In boys soccer, all three scholastic squads from Bristol were state tournament qualifiers, while the Falcons advanced the farthest—getting to the second round of the Class S brackets.
St. Paul keeper, senior Zach Federowicz, came away with the most postseason hardware. Federowicz was named to the Class S Connecticut High School Boys Soccer Coaches Association all-state team, earned recognition on the Boys All-NVL Team, and earned the NVL Senior of the Year Award. Senior Jackson Hines was a boys All-NVL Copper Team selection.
At Bristol Eastern and Central, the CCC South, Blue Division all-conference squad had several Mum City selections.
Eastern’s Gian Constantiello (senior) and Jared Rakosa (senior), along with defensive guru Darin Mar (senior), were CCC South honorees. For the Rams, Mike Lemke (junior), Andrew Marcantonio (senior), and Jason Sarmiento (senior) earned recognition as well.
In girls soccer, Central’s Ashley Macdonald (sophomore) and Adalia Malick (freshman) were CCC South, Blue Division choices, while Eastern—another playoff performer—saw young and experienced players earn the league’s highest award. Freshman Miya Croze, and seniors Gianna D’Amato, and Morgan Dauphinee were CCC South performers.
For St. Paul, seniors Josselyn Zaldivar made the All-NVL team, and Jillian Kilmer was a girls All-NVL Brass Team choice.
In volleyball, Central’s two fourth year starters—Allie Martel and Cydney Martin—were honored by the CCC South, Blue Division as well as the Eastern senior core of Angela Daley, Megan Gettings, and Bailey Wyrebek—all standouts for the Class L semifinalists.
Boys Cross Country saw the outstanding duo of senior Matt Varnum and sophomore Matt Roy wrap up the CCC South, Blue Division honors while on the girls side, a half-a-dozen athletes were named to unit. Junior Ashley Cummings, junior Hannah Jones, and junior Christi Peabody of Central, and senior Emily Baranowski, junior Jillian LeBeau, and senior Nina Pasqua from Eastern zipped up postseason awards from the league.
Seniors Kimberly Hylan, and Sarah Bowes from St. Paul were Class S all-state swimming performers while several Central and Eastern swimmers earned all-conference nods.
The Rams’ Meghan Curtis (sophomore) and Madison Pechulis (senior) got the job done for Central over the fall season, while the Lancers were just as successful in the pool. Junior Jamie Mitchell, freshman Brianna Ogonowski, junior Georgia Ogonowski, senior Olivia Bart, senior Sydney Therrien, sophomore Hope Johnsky, and senior Eva Boniatis each earned CCC South accolades for Eastern.