Registration of pupils who will enter the Bristol Public Schools for the first time next fall, either in kindergarten or as beginners in Grade 1, is scheduled to begin on Monday, April 18 and continue through Friday, May 6. Parents should call or stop by the school in the area of their residence to request a registration packet between the hours of 9:30 and 11:30 a.m. and 1 to 3:30 p.m. It is important parents complete and return the registration packet during the month of May. As completed packets are received, parents and incoming kindergarten children will be scheduled for an orientation session.
In order to enter kindergarten, a child must be 5 years old on or before Jan. 1, 2017. A child must be 6 years old on or before Jan. 1, 2017 to be eligible to enter first grade.
As part of the registration packet, parents will need to supply a copy of their child’s birth certificate and proof of residency (such as a notarized lease from a landlord or two bills sent to the address given under the parent/guardian name).
Additionally, Connecticut State Law requires that children have a physical examination done within 1 year
(365 days) before entering the Bristol school system. Students will not be permitted to enter the school system without the completion of this State of Connecticut physical examination form. If any parent has not yet completed all processing for immunization, they may still register their child at this time with the understanding that there must be a full compliance with the law prior to the opening of school.
If you have any questions relating to immunization, you may contact the Bristol Burlington Health District at 860-584-7682.
Parents and those who have the care of children 5 years of age and older and under 16 years of age are obligated by Connecticut law to cause any such child to attend public day school or its equivalent. Connecticut statute permits parents to withhold their child from a formal education program at age 5 for one year and then again at age 6 for one year. At age 7, the child must be enrolled in an education program as described in Section 10-184 of the statutes. To exercise the option of having their child begin school at age 6 or 7, the parent, or other person having control of the child, must personally appear at the school office and sign an option form.
Parents are asked to complete and return the registration packet from April 18 to May 6 and attend a kindergarten student/parent orientation session.
Parents who are unable to comply with this timeline, however, are urged to call the office of the principal to arrange a mutually convenient time as soon as possible.