Election Results Are In: Bristol GOP holds seat in legislature and senate

Bristol Republicans continue to hold their majority in the state legislature and state senate.

According to unofficial results from Bristol’s Registrars of Voters Office, Republican incumbent Henri Martin won the 31st District State Senate seat with 13,787 votes, defeating Democratic opponent Mike Nicastro, who received 11,371 votes. The 31st District includes Bristol, Plainville, Harwinton, Thomaston and Plymouth.

Meanwhile, Republican incumbent Cara Pavalock won the 77th District House seat with 5,763 votes, defeating Democratic candidate Laura Bartok, who received 5,145 votes.

Republican incumbent Whit Betts won the 78th District House seat with 3,174 votes, defeating Democratic opponent Krystal Myers, who received 2,289 votes.

Bristol Democrats retained their seat for the 79th District House seat, as Chris Ziogas won with 4,752 votes, defeating Republican opponent Peter Del Mastro, who received 4,017 votes.

After a contested race for the presidential ticket, Republican candidate Donald Trump won Bristol with 12,720 votes, while Democratic candidate Hillary Clinton won 12,398 votes.

Democratic incumbent Richard Blumenthal won the U.S. Senate seat, and Democratic incumbent John Larson won his seat in Congress, defeating Republican opponent Matthew Corey.

This year’s election in Bristol also included three ballot questions, which all passed.

All of these numbers were provided by the Bristol Registrars of Voters, and are preliminary numbers deemed unofficial until they are approved by the state. Stayed tuned for a more details on this year’s election in next week’s issue of the Bristol Observer.