Lancers sharpen their skills in Southbury


SOUTHBURY – All those weekend scholastic wrestling tournaments that the Bristol Eastern wrestling squad participates in on a yearly basis always pay huge dividends throughout the season.
And to start the weekend slates in 2014-15, the Lancers were involved with the newly renamed Mike O’Keefe Holiday Tournament – the annual affair from Southbury – on Saturday, Dec. 20.
And it’s a tournament that Eastern has not only participated in over the years, but dominated for quite some time.
With eight Eastern grapplers making to the finals of the event, the Lancers were big winners once again.
Eastern’s Josh Wilson (126 pounds), Steve Goodrich (182), and Sal Paparello (285) won individual titles as Lancers nabbed the championship for the fourth straight year with a convincing 80-point victory over host Pomperaug, 236-156.
The 36th annual event was renamed in honor of the long-time Pomperaug coach Mike O’Keefe, who retired at the end of last season, and the Lancers were sharp in each and every weight-class.
Wilson picked up a 6-4 decision over Christian Andrade of Somers, Goodrich earned a 15-7 decision in the championship round against Elijah Gonillo of Nonnewaug and in the heavyweight bout, Paparello took out New Canaan’s Malaki Holan via pin-fall in a neat twenty-two seconds in the final round.
In the other championship matches, Ryan Dexter of Oxford pinned Eastern’s Noah Corliss in 0:50 of the 113 match; and at 120, Kyle Sheehan from Pomperaug pinned Zach Monge in a back-and-forth bout in 5:32.
In the 145 pound class, Emmett LiCastri of Barlow/Immaculate pinned the Lancers’ Zach Thompson in 2:46; Terryville’s Tyler Bergeron pinned Zach Marquis in 4:44 of the 170 pound class; while the 220 pound final saw Eastern’s Luis Rivera Lopez fall to Andre Hristu of Barlow/Immaculate by pin in 3:48.
In other bouts, Eastern’s Jordon Champagne (106) pinned Kyle Crouse from  Nonnewaug in 1:44 and Jeremy Meccariello nabbed third place at 132 with a 7-6 decision over Christian Clarke of Pomperaug.
And at 138, Terryville’s Connor Levins just snuck past an 8-7 decision over Eastern’s Michael Barrett.

Mike O’Keefe Holiday Tournament
from Southbury high school
Team results – 1. Bristol Eastern 236, 2. Pomperaug 156, 3. Terryville 147, 4. Joel Barlow/Immaculate 102, 5. Somers 93, 6. Chase Collegiate-Waterbury 90, 7. Seymour 88, 8. Nonnewaug 71, 9. Oxford 65, 9. Bunnell 51, 10. East Windsor 37, 11. Holy Cross 36, 12. New Canaan 24, 13. Stafford 23
Individual results
106 pounds: Jack Pelley (East Windsor) pin William Bianchi (Chase Collegiate), 3:12; 3. Jordon Champagne (Bristol Eastern) pin Kyle Crouse (Nonnewaug), 1:44
113: Ryan Dexter (Oxford) pin Noah Corliss (Bristol Eastern), 0:50; 3. Michaela Quinn (Pomperaug) pin John Speakman (Terryville), 0:37
120: Kyle Sheehan (Pomperaug) pin Zach Monge (Bristol Eastern), 5:32; 3. David Dabkowski (Nonnewaug) pin Angelica Serrano (Seymour), 0:22
126: Josh Wilson (Bristol Eastern) dec. Christian Andrade (Somers) 6-4; 3. Dylan Dalesio (Chase Collegiate) pin Ben Coppock (Barlow / Immaculate), 5:50
132: Elliott Wilion (Terryville) dec. Hayden Hall (Chase Collegiate) 9-0; 3. Jeremy Meccariello (Bristol Eastern) dec. Christian Clarke (Pomperaug) 7-6
138: Michael Ross (Bunnell) dec. Jeff Suschana (Somers), 1:27; 3. Connor Levins (Terryville) dec. Michael Barrett (Bristol Eastern) 8-7
145: Emmett LiCastri (Barlow/Immaculate) pin Zach Thompson (Bristol Eastern), 2:46; 3. Kieran Duggan (Nonnewaug) pin Dane Christiansen (Seymour), 2:55
170: Tyler Bergeron (Terryville) pin Zach Marquis (Bristol Eastern), 4:44; 3. Elias Papadimitriu (Barlow / Immaculate) dec. Kadheim Hunter (East Windsor) 2-1
182: Steve Goodrich (Bristol Eastern) dec. Elijah Gonillo (Nonnewaug) 15-7; 3. Will Foschi (Pomperaug) pin Mitchell Wright (Oxford), 1:23
195: Adam Patsun (Somers) pin Joshua Wright (Terryville), 0:59; 3. Anthony Circosta (Bristol Eastern) pin Anthony Delia (Nonnewaug), 1:38
220: Andre Hristu (Barlow / Immaculate) pin Luis Rivera Lopez (Bristol Eastern), 3:48; 3. Domenic Peterson (Stafford) pin Tito Nieves (Holy Cross), 0:13
285: Sal Paparello (Bristol Eastern) pin Malaki Holan (New Canaan), 0:22; 3. Brandon Hogysten (Pomperaug) pin Chris Ernst (Seymour), 3:21
Comments? Email